x

The PLA Blog | Official Blog of the Public Library Association

September PLA Webinar – Check Out E-Readers!

Check Out E-Readers! Sacramento Public Library Did It and You Can Too!

Sacramento (Calif.) Public Library recently received a $100,000 grant from the California State Library to form a partnership with Barnes & Noble and develop a plan to successfully check out e-readers to the public. In six short months, a committee of nine figured out collection challenges, copyright and CIPA issues, how to train 250 staff, manage public interest that exceeded expectations, and conduct a rigid assessment program. Sign up for this hour-long PLA webinar and learn new ideas about how to implement an e-reader lending program at your library.

At the conclusion of this one-hour webinar, participants will:
have received a detailed overview of Sacramento Public Library’s E-Reader program; understand the challenges and rewards of offering an e-reader loan program; have received tips on how to successfully implement a similar program at their own library; and know what challenges to anticipate going forward, including managing digital content that is owned by the library

Panelists
Five panelists from the Sacramento Public Library will present:

Denise Davis, Deputy Library Director
Megan Wong, Technology Librarian
Amy Calhoun, Electronic Resources Librarian
Joseph Spink, Library Services Assistant
Manya Shorr, Outreach & Community Services Supervisor

Date(s) & Time(s)
Wednesday, September 21, 2011

2:00–3:00 PM Eastern
1:00–2:00 PM Central
12:00–1:00 PM Mountain
11:00 AM–12:00 PM Pacific

Fees

    Individual

PLA Member: $28.00
ALA Member: $31.50
Nonmember: $35.00

    Group

Group of any size: $129.00

Register and get more information here.

Comment Pages

There are 2 Comments to "September PLA Webinar – Check Out E-Readers!"

 

Subscribe